COMPOSER 1945–2013

Opus 39

Concertino (1968, rev. 1988)

for Harp, Harpsichord, Celesta, and Piano

  • Lento – Allegro
  • Lento
  • Allegro

Duration: 16 min.

Contact us regarding perusal or performance materials.

Rosner conceived of this unusual work as a “concerto without orchestra” for four “keyboard” instruments. He acknowledged as antecedents Frank Martin’s Petite symphonie concertante (1944) [scored for harp, harpsichord, piano, and string orchestra] and Daniel Pinkham’s Concerto for Celesta and Harpsichord Soli (1954). Rosner’s piece is a texturally intricate work. The outer movements are animated by a highly obsessive energy. The middle movement is more atmospheric, building to a dark, intense climax in the middle. (Notes by Carson Cooman)