COMPOSER 1945–2013

Opus 119

Now Cometh the Redeemer (2005)

for Band

Duration: 11 min.

Dedication: to Jack Stamp

Premiere: 2005; IUP Wind Ensemble; J. Stamp

Performance materials available from the publisher.

Now Cometh the Redeemer is an orchestration for concert band of the second movement of String Sextet: Nun komm’ der Heiden Heiland, a work inspired by the Lutheran chorale of the same name, and especially the mid-baroque setting by Michael Praetorius. The composer wrote that the stirring chorale tune “sits comfortably beneath the surface and is finally sung forth in all its glory near the end, replete with ribbons of contrapuntal decoration and enhancement.” (Notes by Carson Cooman)