COMPOSER 1945–2013

Opus 87

Transformations (1989)

for Trumpet, Piano, and Strings

Duration: 16 min.

Contact us regarding perusal or performance materials.

Subtitled “six contrapuntal variations,” Transformations is a based on a theme presented at the outset in unison by the cellos and basses. The theme is of slow, searching character—rising up from the depths and employing all 12 notes. As the piece progresses, the variations become more and more intense, culminating in an “allegro agitato” final fugue. (Notes by Carson Cooman)

(The trumpet and piano are equal members of the ensemble with the strings, not concerto soloists.)