COMPOSER 1945–2013

Works for String Orchestra

Op. 36Five Meditations (1967, rev. 1974/80) for English Horn, Harp, and Strings18 min.
  • Fugue: Adagio
  • Carol: Allegretto grazioso
  • Air: Andante
  • Dance: Allegro
  • Motet: Andante sostenuto

Dedication: to Stephen Gruen

Recording: Laurel LR-849

Op. 44A Gentle Musicke (1969) for Flute and Strings11 min.

Recording: Laurel LR-849

Op. 67Responses, Hosanna, and Fugue (1977) for String Orchestra and Harp20 min.
  • Responses
  • Hosanna
  • Fugue

Philharmonia Orchestra, David Amos, conductor

Recording: Harmonia Mundi 906012 / Kleos Classics 5119

Op. 107Concerto for Two Trumpets, Timpani, and Strings (1997) for Two Trumpets, Timpani, and Strings21 min.
  • Allegro
  • Adagio
  • Allegro molto

Dedication: to Bruce McKinney and Ted McIrvine

Recording: Albany TROY548

Op. 113Concerto for Harpsichord and Strings (2000) for Harpsichord and Strings18 min.
  • Allegro
  • Largo
  • Allegro

Dedication: to Robert Dell